Visa Requirements for Norwegian Citizens

Visa Information for Passport Holders of Norway

Your browser does not support necessary technology to display the visa requirements map.

Freedom of Travel

Norwegian passport holders can travel to 30 destinations without a visa. Identify cards or passports may be required.

Visa Not Required

89 destinations allow visa-free entry to Norwegian citizens.

Visa On Arrival

A visa can be obtained upon arrival at 10 destinations for passport holders of Norway.

  • Visa On Arrival30 days
  • Visa On Arrival1 monthFrom December 2021, passengers of all countries that required visa, can now obtain visa on arrival at Bujumbura International Airport, and all land borders.
  • Visa On Arrival45 daysNationals of any country can obtain a visa on arrival for a maximum stay of 45 days. Also, the cost is 30 euros or 50 US$
  • Guinea-Bissau PermalinkShow on Map
    Visa On Arrival90 daysVisitors must apply for a visa on arrival in advance or online
  • Visa On Arrival1 monthExtendable for 2 additional months.
    Granted free of charge at Beirut International Airport or any other port of entry if there is no Israeli visa or seal, holding a telephone number, an address in Lebanon, and a non refundable return or circle trip ticket.
  • Visa On Arrival30 days
  • Marshall Islands PermalinkShow on Map
    Visa On Arrival90 daysVisitors wishing to travel to Kwajalein are required to hold an Entry Authorization issued by the United States Military.
  • Visa On Arrival30 daysAvailable at Nouakchott–Oumtounsy International Airport. Only the Nouakchott-Oumtounsy International Airport offers a Mauritania visa on arrival. Any other entry point necessitates a ride to the embassy.
    A Mauritania visa costs about 30 euros and lasts for 30 days.
  • Visa On Arrival90 days
  • Visa On Arrival30 daysAvailable at Berbera, Borama, Burao, Erigavo and Hargeisa airports.
    30 days, available at Bosaso Airport, Galcaio Airport and Mogadishu Airport.


Norwegian passport allows entry to 24 destinations with an eVisa obtained prior to arrival.

  • eVisa30 days30 days extendable once.
    Visitors who have been granted an online pre-visa or have requested a pre-visa from an Angolan consulate abroad are issued a visa upon arrival at the country's border crossings.
    Maximum total stay of 90 days within a one-year period.
    Visitors must have a return/onward ticket and a hotel reservation confirmation.
    International Certificate of Vaccination required.
  • eVisa90 days90 days on each visit in 12-month period if granted
  • eVisa30 days
  • eVisa30 daysMust have an international vaccination certificate.
    Three types of electronic visa are offered: the e-Visa valid for 30 days for a single entry (50€), the e-Visa valid for 30 days for several (multiple) entries (75€), and the e-Visa valid for 90 days to make several (multiple) entries (100€)
  • eVisa
  • Côte d'Ivoire (Ivory Coast) PermalinkShow on Map
    eVisa3 monthseVisa holders must arrive via Port Bouet Airport.
  • Democratic Republic of the Congo PermalinkShow on Map
    eVisa7 days
  • eVisa31 days
  • Equatorial Guinea PermalinkShow on Map
  • eVisa90 daysVisa on arrival is obtainable only at Addis Ababa Bole International Airport.
    eVisa holders must arrive via Addis Ababa Bole International Airport.
    eVisas are available for 30 or 90 days.
  • eVisa90 daysInternational Certificate of Vaccination required.
  • eVisa60 dayse-Visa holders must arrive via 26 designated airports
    An Indian e-Tourist Visa can only be obtained twice in one calendar year.
    Foreigners of Pakistani origin or who hold a Pakistani Passport are not eligible for an e-Visa. Foreigners who are not Pakistani nationals, but whose parents or grandparents (either paternal or maternal) were born in, or were permanent residents in Pakistan, are also not eligible for an eVisa.
  • eVisa30 days
  • eVisa3 monthsInternational Certificate of Vaccination is recommended
    All visitors are fingerprinted on arrival and departure
  • eVisa28 dayseVisa holders must arrive via Yangon, Nay Pyi Taw or Mandalay airports or via land border crossings with Thailand — Tachileik, Myawaddy and Kawthaung or India — Rih Khaw Dar and Tamu.
    eVisa available for both tourism (allowed stay is 28 days) or business (allowed stay is 70 days) purposes.
  • eVisa3 monthsInternational Visitor Conservation and Tourism Levy must be paid upon requesting an Electronic Travel Authority.
    Holders of an Australian Permanent Resident Visa or Resident Return Visa may be granted a New Zealand Resident Visa on arrival permitting indefinite stay (pursuant to the Trans-Tasman Travel Arrangement), subject to meeting character requirements and obtaining an Electronic Travel Authority prior to departure.
  • eVisa90 days
  • eVisa30 days / 3 monthsOnline Visa eligible.
    Electronic Travel Authorization to obtain a visa on arrival for business purposes.
  • eVisa16 dayse-Visa holders must arrive and departure via 29 checkpoints.
  • eVisa90 daysThe validity period of a K-ETA is 2 years from the date of approval.
  • eVisaObtainable online, 90 days for 200 USD and 180 days for 350 USD
    Printed visa authorization must be presented at the time of travel
  • eVisa15 days
  • eVisa3 monthsDetermined at the port of entry.
    Must apply online at least 2 business days prior to travel. As of March 2017, airlines may deny passengers permission to board flights to Uganda without proof that they had successfully applied for an eVisa. Ugandan immigration authorities may require additional documentation, including proof of a return plane ticket and detailed tour itinerary in Uganda.
    International Certificate of Vaccination required

eVisa / On Arrival

For 19 destinations, On-Arrival visa or an electronic visa / auhtorization is available to passport holders of Norway.

  • eVisa or Visa On Arrival14 days / 1 month
  • eVisa or Visa On Arrival1 month
  • eVisa or Visa On Arrival30 daysVisa is also obtainable online.
  • eVisa or Visa On Arrival30 days
  • eVisa or Visa On Arrival30 days
  • eVisa or Visa On Arrival30 daysVisa can be obtained upon arrival, it will cost a total of 40 JOD, obtainable at most international ports of entry and land border crossings (except King Hussein/Allenby Bridge)
  • eVisa or Visa On Arrival3 months
  • eVisa or Visa On Arrival30 days
  • eVisa or Visa On Arrival90 days
  • eVisa or Visa On Arrival90 daysFrom 1 October 2015 visitors are generally advised to obtain a visa in advance.
  • eVisa or Visa On Arrival90 days
  • Papua New Guinea PermalinkShow on Map
    eVisa or Visa On Arrival60 daysVisa on Arrival is currently suspended.
    Free visa valid for 60 days (extension is possible for a fee) on arrival at Port Moresby or Tokua (Rabaul)
  • eVisa or Visa On Arrival30 days
  • eVisa or Visa On Arrival90 days
  • eVisa or Visa On Arrival30 daysIt is valid for only for one month but can be extended at the immigration department once in-country
  • eVisa or Visa On Arrival30 daysElectronic Travel Authorization can also be obtained on arrival.
    30 days extendable to 6 months.
  • eVisa or Visa On Arrival3 months
  • United States of America PermalinkShow on Map
    eVisa or Visa On Arrival90 daysOn arrival from overseas; ESTA (valid for 2 years when issued) required if arriving by air or cruise ship.
  • eVisa or Visa On Arrival3 monthsAlso eligible for a universal visa allowing access to Zambia.

Pre-arranged Visa Required

20 destinations require a visa obtained at an embassy or consulate prior to arrival from passport holders of Norway. This requirement may be waived off if Norwegian citizens meet certain alternate requirements such as holding other visas or resident permits.

Information last updated on .