Visa Requirements for Malaysian Citizens

Visa Information for Passport Holders of Malaysia

Your browser does not support necessary technology to display the visa requirements map.

Visa Not Required

112 destinations allow visa-free entry to Malaysian citizens.

Visa On Arrival

A visa can be obtained upon arrival at 28 destinations for passport holders of Malaysia.


Malaysian passport allows entry to 17 destinations with an eVisa obtained prior to arrival.

  • eVisa120 daysE-Visa may be obtained online prior to departure
  • eVisa3 months3 months on each visit in 12-month period if granted
  • Côte d'Ivoire (Ivory Coast) PermalinkShow on Map
    eVisa90 daysMust be arriving at Port Bouet Airport and hold an International Certificate of Vaccination.
    Fee is 73 Euros
  • Democratic Republic of the Congo PermalinkShow on Map
  • eVisa31 days
  • eVisaup to 90 dayseVisa holders must arrive via Addis Ababa Bole International Airport
  • eVisaElectronic visa holders must arrive via Libreville International Airport.
  • eVisa90 days
  • eVisa28 dayseVisa holders must arrive via Yangon, Nay Pyi Taw or Mandalay airports or via land border crossings with Thailand — Tachileik, Myawaddy and Kawthaung or India — Rih Khaw Dar and Tamu.
    eVisa available for both tourism (allowed stay is 28 days) or business (allowed stay is 70 days) purposes.
  • eVisa3 monthsInternational Visitor Conservation and Tourism Levy must be paid upon requesting an Electronic Travel Authority.
    Holders of an Australian Permanent Resident Visa or Resident Return Visa may be granted a New Zealand Resident Visa on arrival permitting indefinite stay (pursuant to the Trans-Tasman Travel Arrangement), subject to meeting character requirements and obtaining an Electronic Travel Authority prior to departure.
  • eVisaElectronic Travel Authorization to obtain a visa on arrival for tourism purposes.
    Electronic Travel Authorization to obtain a visa on arrival for business purposes.
    Online Visa eligible.
  • eVisa16 dayse-Visa holders must arrive and departure via 29 checkpoints
  • eVisa90 daysMalaysian citizens can enter South Korea as a short term visit (e.g., tours, visiting relatives or friends, attending simple meetings) up to 90 days without a visa, though you should remain aware of the quarantine requirements. You must also have an onward or return ticket. It is illegal to work on a tourist visa, whether as a teacher or in any other capacity.
    You must be in possession of a Korea Electronic Travel Authorization (K-ETA) to enter Korea visa-free. You can complete your K-ETA application up to 24 hours before boarding your flight and it will be valid for two years from the date of approval. There is a small, non-refundable charge.
  • eVisaObtainable online
    Printed visa authorization must be presented at the time of travel
  • São Tome and Príncipe PermalinkShow on Map
    eVisaVisa holders issued by USA or a Schengen Member State may enter São Tomé and Príncipe for stay up to a maximum stay of 15 days
  • eVisa30 days

eVisa / On Arrival

For 8 destinations, On-Arrival visa or an electronic visa / auhtorization is available to passport holders of Malaysia.

  • eVisa or Visa On Arrival30 daysAvailable at airports.
    E-Visa may be obtained online prior to departure.
    E-Visa fee is US$20 + a US$3 service fee.
  • eVisa or Visa On Arrival1 monthE-Visa may be obtained online prior to departure
  • eVisa or Visa On Arrival30 days / 8 daysMust have an international vaccination certificate.
  • eVisa or Visa On Arrival3 monthsFee KWD3.
    E-Visa may be obtained online prior to departure
  • eVisa or Visa On Arrival90 days
  • Papua New Guinea PermalinkShow on Map
    eVisa or Visa On Arrival60 daysMust arrive through Port Moresby (POM) or Rabaul (RAB) airports.
  • eVisa or Visa On Arrival90 days
  • eVisa or Visa On Arrival30 days

Pre-arranged Visa Required

26 destinations require a visa obtained at an embassy or consulate prior to arrival from passport holders of Malaysia. This requirement may be waived off if Malaysian citizens meet certain alternate requirements such as holding other visas or resident permits.

Entry Refused

Disagreements between Malaysia and 1 destination have imposed restrictions in traveling to Malaysia.

  • Entry Refused* As of September 2017, due to safety concerns, the Malaysian government has banned its citizens from visiting North Korea.
    Prior to this, Malaysian citizens were the only people allowed to visit North Korea without a visa. However, solo travel is forbidden.

Information last updated on .